Gluten-Free Pizza

My girlfriend recently latched onto one of the more “trendy” eating diets, eating clean & gluten-free. Unfortunately, I’m Italian, so this would never fly for me. Anyhow, I have been playing around with other flours for baking and pizza making. I wanted to share the trials and experimenting with you guys, since many of you may also be looking for ways to get your pizza or pasta fix without the all the carbohydrates that come with Italian food.

I may have mentioned this in a prior post, but my sister was a chef at Alice Water’s Chez Panisse in Berkeley, California. I reached out to her since snobby Californians seemed to have been the source of this hot new diet. Unfortunately, she had no experience cooking with non-wheat flours, but she was able to point me in the right direction. Thomas Keller, chef and owner of the highly regarded restaurant, The French Laundry, as well as Board of Trustees member of where my sister attended culinary school, The Culinary Institute of America (CIA), has a good book and product. Both his book and flour can be found at his website: http://www.cup4cup.com. Look for a future post with pictures and methods for pizza making with Keller’s gluten-free mix!

Ciao

Leave a Reply

